How to plan your year and achieve your goals. 

This is my favorite time of the year, when I reflect on my previous year and look forward for the new and better year. I don’t remember why I started doing this, but as long as I can remember, since I was maybe 9 or 10, I would always write down things that I want to accomplish for the new year and do my best to meet all the goals. Of course, I keep in mind that some goals might not be accomplished. However, even if I achieve 10% of what I wrote, I’ll be satisfied (at least, I try to be satisfied).

I think, it’s always good to plan ahead and write down things you want in your personal and professional life, what fitness goals you want to achieve, what you want to buy, where you want to travel and so on.

I always write my New Year’s Resolutions by the end of year, I give 2-3 days to really think through what is important and what I really want. I do think that getting agenda will help a lot. This year’s agenda is by favorite one by far (picture below). Then comes the fun part (at least, for me!), sitting and writing. I got this planner from She_plans (check her Instagram!). The moment I saw this planner I fell in love with it. It was so simple, unique and chic, so me, that I had to get it. You can also customize it, like I did. I think I paid for 70$ for agenda, shipping. Since I use my planner, I look at this as an investment and it’s going to last me for one year and I always keep my planners. When I will get older I can look back at my agendas and remember what was I doing when I was young. I also got a gold Sharpie and gold pen (from Parker) to match my agenda ^_^ #nerd

So, before writing down your new year’s resolution, reflect on your year, what went wrong and what went right. This will help you to understand what you are good at and where you slack. From that you can understand how you need to write your resolutions. A lot of people prefer to have 2-3 goals for the year, which for some people work better, but I’m one of those people who likes to plan for 200% and then try to meet everything, if everything fails, I end up with 100%.  Also, I, personally, write down what I’m grateful for. It is crucial to be grateful for the simple things you have in your life. If you don’t appreciate what you have now, you will never appreciate anything later on. (that’s just my view)

I break down my resolutions into categories. My categories are (for this year)

  1. Career/Education
  2. Personal
  3. Less Social Media
  4. Running and Exercising
  5. New Habits
  6. Reading and Journaling

And for each category I have specific goals. For example, this year’s running goal is to run 2016km, run 2 marathons and 2 half-marathons, and don’t go 3 days without running. For exercising: do squats and planks daily, HIIT exercises on Wednesdays or Thursdays, 1 hour yoga session on Mondays and Fridays.

New habits, meditate daily before sleeping and after waking up, put my phone on airplane mode after 22:00 (10pm), put a cleansing mask 2 a week, brush my teeth for 3 minutes twice, do not sleep with make up on, plan my next week on Sundays, clean my room on Saturdays.

How do I keep track of my resolutions?

  1. In the beginning of each month, I read my New Year’s resolutions and remind myself why I wrote that on the first place.
  2. I have mini goals for each month, which reflect my NYR.
  3. I do plan my week ahead
  4. I do plan seasonally, I take each season and start to plan for that season.

IMG_0526

I usually do not add any goals through out the year, at least not a big one. This helps me to concentrate on the goals that I have.

Remember, “If you fail to plan, you plan to fail” 🙂

