“Self-confidence is the best outfit, rock it and own it.”

In reality, it is hard for people to be confident and be unapologetic about it. If there is a person in this world, that will say that they never had insecurities, I will have a hard time believing you. If you are one of those who never had any insecurities I applaud you. However, the majority of us, peasants, had/have insecurities. Or when we were confident we hid that, so people will not feel threaten by us or won’t call us “cocky, full of yourself” and might even pin point our flaws, which won’t be that hard 😀

All of us to some degree are perfectionists. You want it all or nothing. I am no exception to this rule. I want it all and I want it NOW. I think I was 8 or 9 when I became pretty obsessed with Britney Spears. Britney had the “perfect” body and “perfect” life. I remember how I wrote down in my diary, if I don’t look like her, I will never be happy. Am I the only one who had those diaries? (Don’t you worry, I burned all of those diaries! Yep, I had not one, but 3 of those.)

So when puberty hit me, I realized that “damn! I’m so not like Britney”. What should I do?  I started to diet, so that I could have Britney’s abs. All of a sudden I was this insecure person, because I wanted to be someone and I wasn’t that person and I was not happy with the way I looked. (When I say I was dieting, I would not eat properly then binge eat–classic diet scenario. You lose weight, you gain weight. Repeat this cycle until you realize that it just doesn’t work. Side note: I will never diet in my life ever again.)

So here when running comes in. 

In my previous blog, I talked how I started my running journey.

It was when I started to run, I realized that after every run I’m 100times happier, I’m more confident. It wasn’t because my body all of a sudden was perfect, nope. It was because I realized my body is the greatest gift I’ve received in my life. I was empowered by my body and its capabilities. I was healthy, I had legs and my legs could carry me. I realized I don’t care how I look, because either someone agrees or not, my body is magical. I can run and that’s all matters. Do I want to look fitter? Sure, yes! I’m a perfectionist. However, I, no longer compare myself with anyone. You are good your own way, I’m good my own way. It sounds cliche, but that’s the beauty itself that we are all unique in our own ways. How boring would that be if we had the same type of body and face and personality? BO-RING.

I have done pilates, HIIT, I do yoga, but nothing ever gave me the same amount of empowerement as running. I will not actually tell you that only through running you will be confident person. But there is something about running (long runs especially) that once you are finished with your 15k or more, you feel joy and this sense of being proud of yourself. There is this thing called “runner’s high” and you get addicted to it. You want it more.

So instead of thinking how your body looks like, think about what it does for you 🙂 

IMG_7040   This is me when I completed my first half-marathon in Yerevan, Armenia.

