I had a privilege to watch “Listen to me”documentary , where 10 brave people talked about their struggles and experience, and how hard it is being accepted in our (Armenian) community. While there are other countries who treat LGBT community far worse than Armenians, I don’t live in those countries and neither of my friends who are either supporting LGBT community or are part of the community. What matter to me is what is happening in my country.

I have read and heard nasty comments about the community for many years, from “as long as they don’t kiss in front of me” to “burn them”. There was a time when I did not understand, I had no knowledge, I did not have too much information about the LGBT community, but I have never felt anger or hatred towards them, because in my family we do not promote hatred or ignorance. However, not everyone is as lucky as I am.

I remember one time during my studies at American University of Armenia, when two of my classmates started to debate how the LGBT community is a threat to our society, out of 24 people, my friend (Perchuhy) and I were the only ones who voiced the support for the LGBT community. It amazed me that how many people either did not care or were secretly promoting hatred. One of the books that I’m currently reading (Inferno by Dan Brown) it says:

“The darkest places in hell are reserved for those who maintain their neutrality in times of moral crisis.”

I totally agree with this quote, if you are not standing for the people who are being harassed, if you are not stoping hatred, you are part of the problem, you are promoting hatred.

“Listen to me” documentary was amazing, because each of those heroes shared their personal fears, what they have gone through, how hard it was for them to accept themselves as they are. I do not want anyone to feel that way, to feel that they are less than a human because the society says so. You are more than your sexuality or gender. You are enough as you are. I want anyone who reads this to know that I will always support my LGBT friends and I wish and hope for the time that people will not care about that and we will truly become one.  You can’t watch that documentary and just ignore the fact that we have a problem in our country. You can’t deny people who are breathing and trying to live their lives how they wish to live. And as my dear friend Mamikon said during his speech it could be anyone who you know: your sister, your brother, your neighbor, your daughter, your son and so on.

I do not care what people will talk about me, who will hate me, or who will stop to talk to me, because I do not want to be surrounded by people who want everyone to live as their hearts want to, I don’t want “friends” who hate people who are part of my life.  And some of you claim to belong to Christianity. I would want to remind you the Golden Rule, which is

“do unto others as you would have them do unto you”

The Golden rule is truly amazing and I suggest all of you to spread more love and positivity.

For more information please visit: http://www.pinkarmenia.org and just any website that will help you to understand. If you are struggling by being accepted you can always count on me and my ah-mazing friends.

And lastly I want to ask for anyone who disagrees with me: why do you care who sleeps with whom? How is that affecting your personal life and happiness? Don’t you want everyone to be happy? Why do you promote hatred?

P.S.  I’m sorry (not really) that anyone feels uncomfortable reading this, it is time for you to open your eyes and see beyond your nose, and I will talk about this until every good person in this country is accepted and is granted the same rights as heterosexual men have. (see what I did there?)

