People who know me, they know that I love buying books and, of course, I love reading them. I hate (absolutely hate!) when someone asks me what is my favorite book… could you not? I can’t pick just ONE… However, I can name books that I would definitely re-read in future. I re-read Harry Potter series this year, and I enjoyed it so much. Some books just make you live.

Before I write 5 books that I loved a lot more than the others, I want to write two things I loved this year, which are audiobooks and the website goodreads.

  • AUDIOBOOKS. In 2016 I started to listen to books, in other words I used audiobooks. I wanted to be open minded and try to “read” as much as possible. Since I run, audiobooks come in handy, I listened to “Eat and Run: My unlikely Journey to Ultramarathon greatness” by Scott Jurek during my runs. Not only you listen to one of the best runner out there, which motivates you, but also you are extra productive, you aren’t listening to Britney’s “Work bitch” song for the thousand time. Also, I listened to other audiobooks and podcasts while I was washing my face, doing my make up and other chores, definitely I would suggest audiobooks.
  • GOODREADS.  In 2016 I re-started to use goodreads more and more. If you don’t know what is Goodreads, where have you been?! It is one of the best websites (in my opinion) that let’s you track your books, read reviews, see what other people read and you can write your own review when you finish the book. I love writing reviews, not for other people, but solely for myself, I can go back and read my review and remember what exactly I loved about it, when I read the book. There are times that I don’t track my books that well, but I’m trying.

I read 60 books in 2016, which is a good number, considering I have some sort of life. I also want to mention that I do NOT force myself reading books, it just happens that I love reading and there were lots of nights that I stayed up late and finished a book. Priorities. The books are in no particular order, I couldn’t do that.

MY FAVORITE BOOKS

“1984” by George Orwell: I finally  read one of the best books out there, I first heard about this work from my favorite author Haruki Murakami in 1Q84 and I was intrigued to read it, then for some time I forgot about it and one time I was browsing in our local bookstore and I saw it and next thing I knew I read the whole thing. The book was so good, that I just knew he became my favorite author, even though that was my first book read from him. I didn’t care if that was the only good book from him, I just didn’t. You understand from this book, how easily people can be manipulated and what fear can do, you can deny your existence and better judgement. “Freedom is slavery”. Basically if you want to live in your “freedom” you just need to follow the “rules” and you would be good. It doesn’t matter that you know that 2+2=4, if the government says it is 5, and you want your “freedom” you just need to agree with it. The book is terrifying in that sense, because I knew that we are all manipulated in one way or another. We don’t live in total freedom, some of us are “freer” but overall we are all slaves to the system. That’s just the truth.

“Inferno” by Dan Brown: Continuing with manipulation and creating “illusion” theme, I want to mention this book, which not only had an interesting storyline, but also was filled with many historic facts and I can surely say that I learned fun facts from this book. “Inferno” is the forth book from Robert Langdon series, but it is a stand alone book, after this book I read “Angels and Demons” which is the first one, but the series don’t merge and it doesn’t matter in what order you read them. It took me around 10 pages in to fully get into it, but I think 10 pages is nothing, sometimes it takes me 100 pages to start loving the book. After reading this book, I read “Angels and Demons” which I loved, and I bought “The Lost Symbol” (3rd one) and I will read it as soon as possible.

“The Kite Runner” by Khaled Hosseini: If you want to be sad and miserable, you found the book! This is the second book from Khaled Hosseini. The first book that I have read from him, left me sad and moved. It was “And the mountains echoed”. I loved it so much. So when I saw this book, I knew I would like it. Few pages in, and I was crying. When I say crying, I was sobbing… The story takes place in Afghanistan, and it shows a great deal about their culture, the best and the worst. Of course, this isn’t a happy story (to say the least). I have never read a book where it talked about men rape, and I’m glad that the author wrote about it, since I think when one talks about rape you think about women being raped, but this book talked about men being raped, mainly boys. I like Khaled’s writing style, it is so easy to follow the events. Definitely check his works.
img_7814
“A fall of Marigolds” by Susan Meissner: I love books that make me cry, and I’m not one of those people who can easily cry, it might touch my heart and soul but my eyes might still be dry. But oh boy…. this book, made me cry several times, I remember the exact places that I was crying my eyes out. The book is about two characters who lose their loved one and the whole book is talking about moving on, but it isn’t one of those cheesy moving on books, like “Me after you” by Jojo Moyes, which is filled with self pity (minor shade right there). And you know how you know the book is extra good that no words can do justice to it. This is definitely one of those books.

“Go Set a watchman” by Harper Lee: This book had ups and downs for me. “the time your friends need you is when they’re wrong, Jean Louise. They don’t need you when they’re right.” So instead of shutting down those people who are in the wrong, you need to guide them step by step, I think I will keep this in my head and instead of defying other’s, arguing and shouting, I’ll make sure to show my “truth”,- Dr. Finch. This statement was the crucial part for me. Even though there were parts that I wished Harper Lee wrote differently, but if she wrote something that I wanted to read, it wouldn’t make me think differently and accept that sometimes I will read a book, that will shake my “truth” and that’s the beauty of it.If I read what I think is right, I will never grow as a human being. “To Kill a mockingbird” by Harper Lee is the book, which I can’t wait to read to my children. Even though Harper Lee wrote two books, she will be considered one of the greatest writers of all time. And that’s when you know, that quality tops quantity.

These are my “top” 5 books in 2016. It wasn’t easy to pick but I think I did my best. I highly recommend these books.

 

 

